Dakshina Kannada (South Canara) is the southern coastal district of Karnataka State with an area of 4859 Sq.K.M. The district is bound by sea in the west and Western Ghats in the East, Udupi district in the North and Kerala State in the South. 

Mangaluru is the district head quarters of Dakshina Kannada and it has become an education hub with a number of reputed institutions offering variety of courses attracting students from all over the country and abroad. It is also famous for its beaches, temples and religious places of worship.



District is a basic administrative. The head of the district administration is the Deputy Commissioner who is drawn from Indian Administrative Service. Though most of the developmental activities at the district are carried out by the various functional departments, the Collector as the Chief Executive of the district has a central role as the coordinator of programs implemented in the district. 

As the revenue head of of the district, Deputy Commissioner is the chief representative of the Government. As the District Magistrate he is responsible for the law and order within the district.

The Deputy Commissioner is assisted by Assistant Commissioners, who will be in charge of the revenue administration of one or more taluks called revenue sub-division, and Tehsildars who will be in charge of the revenue administration of one taluk. Dakshina Kannada District has 2 revenue sub divisions viz., Mangalore and Puttur and 5 Taluks viz., Mangalore, Bantwal, Puttur, Belthangady and Sullia. 

Deputy Commissioner`s Office Mangalore is situated in the heart of the city near State Bank. The DC office has various sections to deal with different matters of land, law and order, public grievances etc. In the Deputy Commissioner`s Office, the Deputy Commissioner is assisted by Additional Deputy Commisioner (ADC), Election Tahsildar, Shirastedars and Caseworkers of different sections.